Is it possible - to get my duck to quit laying eggs daily?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by ellieuki, Feb 20, 2014.

1. ellieuki

ellieuki Out Of The Brooder

Aug 11, 2013
    Insane question, I know - I'm new to the duck game. Everything I've read says allowing ducks to lay daily will shorten their life span. Is that true? I've given her free access to oyster shells, an array of mixed organic green, and quality duck feed. The ducks are spoiled rotten, but as a woman, I can't imagine what her little duck body must go through every day. So is it possible to get her to stop laying?
    She is a crested white - the most neurotic duck breed ever ;).

Thanks

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    There is a big question, and I think you are wonderful for asking it.

Here is the little I know. I know someone who has been raising ducks for several years. In her experience - and it is mostly but not exclusively Pekins - they live about 8 years or so. That is with no egg suppression.

The average duck age is 3 to 4 years according to Storey's Guide to Raising Ducks, and that, they write, is largely due to predator attack.

Keeping a duck from laying involves keeping her in the dark. Then she would likely go broody for a while (this happened at our place last year after an oviduct prolapse). But eventually, the duck would return to laying, I would think.

(more in a few . . . okay, I'm back)

So, my feeling is, give her the best nutrition you can manage, help her avoid other stresses such as extreme heat and cold, or insecure shelter, isolation, conflict, and I feel she has a good chance of doing fine.

It is true that egg laying is risky. I have lost two of my sixteen total since 2010 to egg yolk peritonitis, and one to unknown disease. Sechs had a prolapse last year and that is life-threatening.