Is it safe to move chicks outside?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Lowe5749, Sep 24, 2012.

1. Lowe5749

Lowe5749 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 20, 2012
    Union South Carolina
    I have some new born easter eggers and a couple marans in a brooder in my spare bedroom. They were born thursday and seem to all be healthy. I have a brooder in my coop I want to put them in to free up my bedroom, but this morning when I went to check om my chickens outside, my broody hen " Big Momma" was under the heat lamp. Is it to cold for the chicks at night now? I have heat lamps, but seeing my grown hen under one makes me nervous. There is an open window in my coop, I have hardware cloth on, should I put plastic on it? Im new to chickens still so any advice is greatly appreciated!

2. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    Will your broody take them? She probably likes the cold. But I can't imagine it being that cold where you are. I have 2 hens with clutches that were hatched last Monday they are out side, but have a mother to keep them warm it was 38* this morning
    Oh Yeah
    [​IMG]

3. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Was your hen in the brooder box? The chicks should be kept separate from the adult birds until they are close to the same size as the adults. Their brooder should be separate, draft-free, and should have a heat source that provides enough warmth for your chicks to stay comfortable - at their age around 90 degrees.

4. Lowe5749

Sep 20, 2012
    Union South Carolina