Is it time to candle and discard? :(

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dancingchicken77, Nov 15, 2008.

1. dancingchicken77

dancingchicken77 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 22, 2008
    Australia
    ok i've got a new r-com 3 incubator (auto-turn, auto-temp, auto-humidity, you just set the breed of bird and press start). it's got 3 pekin (cochin) bamtam eggs from a very good local breeder. i am an almost total newbie with no clue what i'm dong.

i candled them at about day 1, and couldn't really see anything. in the first one was like all i could see was the odd speckle of bright light, although in 2 i felt like i could see a darker shape in there.

i'm now just into day #22, and no pipping or action from any of the 3 eggs. i'm loathe to open the bator and drop the humidity, but is it time to candle them and check do you think? or should i wait a bit longer?

thanks if you can help. this waiting...and then no joy...has been awful

cheers,

carrie

Last edited: Nov 15, 2008
  2. chickenchickenbulkbulk

chickenchickenbulkbulk Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 9, 2008
    OHIO
    Hey Carrie, your eggs just may not be fertile. I'm not for sure. It wouldn't hurt to candle them. Wait a couple more days. I have had them hatch 3days before to 3 days after the 21st hatch date. I had incubated 4 dozen and checked them on the 10th day. 12 of the white leg horn eggs were not fertile. The other are brown eggs and hard to see in side. So I will have to wait on them. I wish you luck. Mine are due to hatch on the 17th of this month. DJ Don't let this discourage you. If they don't hatch try it again. [​IMG]

3. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    awww, sorry your eggs arent hacthing for you !! [​IMG] [​IMG]

I would give them a few more days.... If you dont smell and weired smells I would just leave them alone till at least day 23.

4. what was i thinking

what was i thinking Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    cny ny