is it to late

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by m.rogers, Oct 25, 2008.

1. m.rogers

m.rogers Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2008
    Glen Burnie MD.
    I am in Maryland and one of my hens is sitting on some eggs do you all think it is to late in the season to let her keep them . I am new to this whole chicken thing and things seem to be going good.I put 24 mixed eggs in my incubator and i have 18 chicks(will be 2 weeks on 10/28) in the brooder and another 24 in the incubator that are 1 week today there will be some candling going on tonight .

thanks,
    mike

Last edited: Oct 25, 2008
  2. katrinag

katrinag Chillin' With My Peeps

I would just leave her.

3. swtangel321

swtangel321 ~Crazy Egg Lady~

Jul 11, 2008
    m.rogers :

I am in Maryland and one of my hens is sitting on some eggs do you all think it is to late in the season to let her keep them . I am new to this whole chicken thing and things seem to be going good.I put 24 mixed eggs in my incubator and i have 18 chicks(will be 2 weeks on 10/28) in the brooder and another 24 in the incubator that are 1 week today there will be some candling going on tonight .

thanks,
    mike

How long has she been sitting ???​

4. m.rogers

Jul 27, 2008
    Glen Burnie MD.
    swtangel321

I have been taken the eggs from her for the last week but to day when i want to get my eggs i moved the eggs from under her but stoped and when i did she rolled the eggs back under her and started to grow at me(the funnies thing i have ever heard)

thanks
    mike

5. swtangel321

Jul 11, 2008
    m.rogers :

swtangel321

I have been taken the eggs from her for the last week but to day when i want to get my eggs i moved the eggs from under her but stoped and when i did she rolled the eggs back under her and started to grow at me(the funnies thing i have ever heard)

thanks
    mike

They are funny things !!!! So she is still laying eggs ???​

6. m.rogers

Jul 27, 2008
    Glen Burnie MD.