1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

is it too cold for hatching eggs?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by fizzymum, Sep 25, 2015.

1. fizzymum

fizzymum New Egg

Sep 25, 2015
    Wigan, Lancashire, England
    Hi All, I love this site and i've got so much fantastic info that I thought it was time I joined in! I'm new to keeping chickens, we got 8 girls about 3 months ago, but just as they've all started laying, 3 have gone broody!! So I've bought some fertilised eggs and they are all happily sitting on them. But now I'm wondering if it's too late to hatch out chicks coz it might be too cold for them? I live in the Uk, northwest not many miles away from Manchester, what do you fabulous experts think??

2. junebuggena

junebuggena Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    How cold are your winters typically?

3. fizzymum

fizzymum New Egg

Sep 25, 2015
    Well at the moment it's about 14degrees Celsius during the day and about 6 at night, during Dec and Jan it gets down to about -10 at night. Each hen and chicks will be in their own little coop with food and water and an outside run which will be well sheltered?

4. junebuggena

junebuggena Overrun With Chickens

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA