Is it too late to lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by liz_s, Oct 31, 2010.

1. liz_s

liz_s Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2010
    Washington State
    Hello!

So I know that the shorter days make egg production slow down, but I have a possibly different problem. I have three Ameraucanas, theoretically all the same age. One started laying a month ago, but the other two never started. They're about 7 months old, so I would think that they should all be laying by now... If they didn't start laying by the time the days got shorter, will they not start until next year? It seems odd, but not impossible. I'm new to the whole chicken biology thing. [​IMG] Anybody have any similar experiences? Oh, and the one that is laying had definitely not slowed down!

Thanks,

Liz

2. woodmort

woodmort Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2010
    Oxford NY
    EE's are essentially mutts so even hatchmates may have different genes and start laying at different times. Generally speaking first year layers will lay when they're ready regardless of the season. Right now I've got 4 6-month old EE pullets that don't even appear to be ready but expect eggs from them before spring.

3. liz_s

May 16, 2010
    Washington State
    Actually, I don't have EEs. They're pure-bred Ameraucanas. But it's good to know that they might still lay. The breeder I got them from said that they were 8 weeks, but I have a feeling there was a few week difference in their age. I'm not too concerned about it, considering they're mostly lovable pets, but I'm still learning how this all works! From other posts I learned that their combs can be a sign about when they're ready to lay, so I'll be looking out for that!

Thanks for the input!

Liz

4. woodmort

woodmort Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2010
    Oxford NY