Is it true that roosters are mean?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Desirai, Oct 15, 2011.

1. Desirai

Desirai Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2011
    Alabama
    hi, I'm 100% new to chickens. I am still learning about chickens before I get some.

Is it true roosters are mean and will attack you or your other chickens or pets?

So whenever I get chickens do I only want female chickens?

I want them as pets and maybe for eggs.

2. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Noooooo. There are loads out there that are mean, yes, mainly because of irresponsible breeding (bred solely for the hen's egg production, leaving out temperament) But there's LOADS of really really sweet gentlemen out there! [​IMG]

If all roosters were mean, I don't know how breeders, or exhibitioners, or even cockfighters would deal with it. They have to deal with roosters, hands on, all the time. For some it is an every-day ritual.

I even have a breed of rooster that LOOKS mean and scary and frankly like a raptor, but, he's the sweetest around.

3. ChickieBooBoo

ChickieBooBoo Cold Canadian Chick

Dec 2, 2009
    Canada
    I have this HUGE Light Brahma roo who could easily stick his spurs right through my leg. Visitors are often skittish around him because he looks pretty intimidating when really, he's a complete doll.

4. Desirai

Oct 12, 2011
    Alabama
    Ooh I see. Well I read a post about someone being flogged by a rooster. Do they do that often? What makes them want to flog or attack?

do you have to be like a pack leader as if you were with a dog?

5. Farm_Maven

Farm_Maven Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2011
    Tishomingo
    [​IMG]
    Not all roosters are mean. I have two (had three but sold a roo and hen combo not long ago). None of them are mean, they are quite nice. Personality of the rooster has a lot to do with it, as well as other variables. If you have small children I would go with all hens.