Is It true that Turkey Chicks are Hard to Raise?

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by lisathenorth, Jan 8, 2010.

1. lisathenorth

lisathenorth Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2009
    Hello, I just bought a bunch of turkey eggs, and I heard a nasty rumor that turkeys are really hard to raise. If it is true- why?

2. farmerlor

farmerlor Chillin' With My Peeps

They're really no harder to raise than chickies. A nice brooder with no air drafts, some good feed, water with some organic cider vinegar, a little yogurt now and again (homemade if ya got it), the right temp for their age and keep that cage clean and it will all come together.

3. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight

I've been raising turkeys for several years now. The babies are very sensitive for the first month or so for some reason. I have my best luck when I just let one of my hens raise them, although I have also incubated. Don't let the babies get their feet wet for the first few weeks ,it is hard on them for some reason. Good luck with your hatch! What flavor of turk eggs did you get? I have Royal Palms, Blue Slates, & a few mixed scragglers running around.

4. Marlinchaser

Marlinchaser Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 18, 2007
    MERRY LAND
    They tend to need more warmth than chicks, I raised mine with a few chicks to teach them the ropes, and the chicks always tended to shy away from the heat quicker, I dont use thermometer, just raise the lamp till chicks/poults no longer want heat.

5. MandyH

MandyH You'll shoot your eye out!