Is Minnie Baby (and her sisters), a "Minnie" or a "Mickey"?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by anwhite, Feb 10, 2015.

1. anwhite

anwhite Out Of The Brooder

Feb 9, 2015
    The Valley, AZ
    Hi Everyone! I am brand new to BYC, and a brand new chicken mama. I've wanted chickens for a long time, and in January, we just went for it. We have had the chickens for a month, and are really attached to them. I'm getting nervous, though, that some of these hens many turn out to be roosters, and have to be sent away. So I'm turning to you guys for help! I've been stalking the boards for over a month, and know how awesome the community is on BYC! Thank you so much for any help you can offer!

I am most worried about Minnie Baby, as she belongs to my 3 year old. This is actually Minnie Baby 2.0 as the first Minnie Baby died the second day we had her.

If you need more/better pictures, I am happy to try again. They sure are hard to get decent pictures of!
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  2. familyfarm1

familyfarm1 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 9, 2013
    Northern Virginia
    Hello [​IMG] and Welcome to BYC![​IMG]

Your chicks are all so adorable! The only ones that look like cockerels to me are: Jane, Phoebe, and Brooke. Minnie baby and the rest look like pullets to me. Glad to have you join BYC!
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 10, 2015
  3. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    Jane, Minnie Baby, Phoebe and Brooke look like cockerels to me. That dark red color on Minnie Baby's wings is a strong male indicator, which you'll also notice on Brooke. Maybe Betsy too, but I'm not so sure about that one.

4. anwhite

Feb 9, 2015
    The Valley, AZ