Is my chick sick?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by doodlelover, Feb 18, 2015.

1. doodlelover

doodlelover Out Of The Brooder

Feb 18, 2015
    Hello, this is my first time raising chicks so I was hoping you guys could please help me out. I have 4 silkie chicks that I got from craigslist four weeks ago. They are 7 weeks old now. I had them inside in a brooder since I got them at 3 weeks old and they just went to the outside coop last weekend. When I got them, the lady told me to watch for a funny head tilt thing that would indicate a vitamin deficiency. I thought that I saw a couple of them do it (or maybe I was just paranoid) so I got some vitamins to add to their water last week. About 5 days ago, I noticed one had it's eye closed shut. I flushed it with saline and it opened up, but it still kind of squints. I also noticed it may have a little bit of nasal drainage/crusty stuff. I'm also wondering if the area of skin around the eye doesn't look normal-is there feathers missing? Please see the last picture for a close up. It also might be acting a little off-but it isn't lethargic or limping or anything crazy. Thanks for any advice!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Welcome to BYC. Do you see any signs of sneezing, nasal drainage, or a swollen or watery eye? Squinting and closing of an eye can be a symptom of air that has ammonia odors or dust, but also can be an early sign of a chronic respiratory disease such as mycoplasma (MG.) It can show up around 3 weeks of age, and may be from the chick being exposed to a carrier bird. Here is a good link to read about MG and other common diseases:
    http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044
    http://www.thepoultrysite.com/disea...ction-mg-chronic-respiratory-disease-chickens
    http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps031

Last edited: Feb 18, 2015
  3. doodlelover

Feb 18, 2015