Is my Chicken Drunk? with video

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by augustiner05, Dec 25, 2010.

1. augustiner05

augustiner05 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2010
    Hello All!
    I am in need of some advice! I have 7 chicks and they are exactly 2 months old today. I notice that one, an Easter egger I think, looks quite wobbly on her feet. She looks almost drunk. She takes a few steps and gentle leans/falls back then settles forward then ruffles her feathers out. The other 6 are all running around and look fine. Any ideas? I am new to chickens so and advice is greatly appreciated.
    Merry Christmas!
    :

you can see for yourself here:

Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  2. Silkie Sue

Silkie Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    Merry Christmas !!!!
    sorry to hear about your baby....
    unless your chick has been out celebrating i don;t know for sure what it could be,
    maybe parasites.... you could give a couple drops with an eyedropper of ivermectin between the shoulder blades
    keep us posted

3. Silkie Sue

Silkie Sue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2007
    Sarnia, Ontario
    i just watched the video....
    i'm really still thinkin parasites
    what kind of chickens are they?
    they seem big for 2 months old

4. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Did you get them from a hatchery? It might be a good idea to bring her in to the house so you can observe her better and get her away from the others till you know what it could be. What are you feeding them and were they vaccinated?

5. chicks4kids

chicks4kids Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Northern Indiana
    Are you giving her any vitamins/electrolytes?? I would. She may just be lacking in something nutrient wise and that could help her out immensely.

6. augustiner05

Oct 28, 2010