Is my chicken poorly?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Cwoodie78, May 22, 2019.

1. Cwoodie78

Cwoodie78 In the Brooder

Jun 12, 2018
    Hi, I’m fairly new to keeping chickens, they are my first lot and they have just turned 1 year old.
    For the last week or so my blacktail has been showing the signs of being broody, she has been alert and jumping off her nest for food and water on a daily basis. However today I saw a real difference in her, she’s sat looking lathargic with her eyes closed, when touched she makes a gentle bleating noise. A gentleman has told me it’s all part of the broody stage but I’m not convinced, I think she looks poorly and I’m tempted to take her to the vets . Does anyone know what could be wrong with her? Thankyou in advance

Attached Files:

The Chicken Whisperer likes this.
  2. The Chicken Whisperer

The Chicken Whisperer Songster

Jul 4, 2018
    I have a broody hen right now and she looks a bit like this. How long has she been sitting on her eggs?

Cwoodie78 and Hencraze24 like this.
  3. Hencraze24

Hencraze24 Songster

May 9, 2019
    Sussex, WI
    Same here. Exactly how long has this been going on for?

4. The Chicken Whisperer

Jul 4, 2018
    Mine has been on for about two weeks. Yours?

5. Cwoodie78

Cwoodie78 In the Brooder

Jun 12, 2018
    Really! Approximately just over a week. So is this normal behaviour for a broody chicken? She has been so alert so far.

The Chicken Whisperer likes this.
  6. Cwoodie78

Cwoodie78 In the Brooder

Jun 12, 2018
    She has been sat for just over a week but alert and coming off for food etc,but just today she has been like this

7. The Chicken Whisperer

Jul 4, 2018
    Has she only been like this for one day? Have you seen her drink or eat since she became like this?

8. Cwoodie78

Cwoodie78 In the Brooder

Jun 12, 2018