Is my chicken sick???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Erik, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Erik

Erik New Egg

Mar 11, 2012
    Landis, NC
    Let me start out by saying that I am relatively new to the chicken farming. So about a year ago my wife bought me a 12 baby chickens. After the whole process of raising them and predators I had 8 left and came to find out that 6 were roosters. Needless to say I now have only one rooster and 2 hens. So my question is. During the mating process the rooster has really done a number to the one hens back. He has the feathers ripped off to the skin. The hen over the last day or so has not wanted to come off the roost and i have not seen her eating or drinking and seems very lethargic. What I am wondering is it possible that she has an infection??? If so what can be done, and if she does lay are the eggs safe( I got a white egg the other day up to this point they have been brown and it was laying on the ground in the middle of the coop.)????

2. Erik

Erik New Egg

Mar 11, 2012
    Landis, NC
    Here is a pic of her. I guess i already know what the outcome is going to be, I was just hoping there is something i can do to save her. [​IMG]

3. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn