Is my coop big enough??

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by K7 Menagerie, Jun 2, 2008.

1. K7 Menagerie

K7 Menagerie Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2008
    Bend, OR
    We're building a coop right now, and I want to make sure it's big enough for my 6 chickens (3 EE, 3 Welsummers). The coop itself is about 4 ft x 6 ft, and the run is 6 ft x 6 ft. It's one of those triangular shaped arks. Also taking suggestions for naming the building. The chickens are Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme, Bay, and Coriander. Yeah, I know, the Spice Girls. [​IMG]

2. Jacky'sMamma

Jacky'sMamma Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2008
    Antelope, CA
    LOL, no comment on the size here... I am no expert. LOVE the names tho!

[​IMG]

3. tnkinhunting

tnkinhunting Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2008
    East Tennessee
    Sounds like a nice sized run - post pic's!

4. tricia

tricia Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2007
    West Central Wisconsin
    Sounds like a good size. I love the names! You could call the coop the Spice Rack. [​IMG]

5. Katy

Katy Flock Mistress

Just a warning.....you probably won't be able to stop at 6!! [​IMG]

6. K7 Menagerie

May 6, 2008
    Bend, OR
    The Spice Rack! I love it, thanks![​IMG]

7. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    I dunno, I'm going to be the dissenting voice and say that it's pretty minimal space for six chickens unless they freerange most of the time. 4x6 may be your upstairs floorspace, but the USABLE space up there is substantially smaller, because of how the walls slope down. The edges of the pen part are kind of awkward for chickens to use, too, for the same reason.

Many people have chickens surviving in that size quarters. Me, I give them more space. It's a matter of personal conscience and taste, I guess. Also the more space they have the less chance of problems with picking, etc (although there is a certain 'random luck' factor there, too).