Is my girl a french maran??

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by bantamsrbest100, Aug 19, 2013.

1. bantamsrbest100

bantamsrbest100 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2013
    [​IMG]

This is Daisy, she was the only pullet from a hatch of 8, (not my hatch) all the Roos have a lot of brown on them now but she has none? She is only 4 and a bit months old.... wen does the brown on the neck come in? or do some not have any? I am new to the breed so any help i'd b really grateful!! [​IMG] I have posted this in the maran thread but no response....

2. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    She is not a french marans as those have feathered shanks, she might be an american marans, they have clean shanks. Hens get the "copper" color later, and yes some never get the "copper" color at all

Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  3. bantamsrbest100

bantamsrbest100 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2013

Thanks! Will she lay dark choc eggs?

4. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep