Is my gut right???

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by tdayman, Aug 15, 2013.

1. tdayman

tdayman Out Of The Brooder

Apr 13, 2013
    Ontario, Canada
    I really, really want a varied colour egg basket. I am new to chickens and I currently have 2 RSL, and 2 WLH (all from a hatchery). I found an add on Kijiji for some Arauca/Americana and some Cuckoo Marans, which I would LOVE to add to my flock. However I have done some research and know that they have spelled Ameracana with an "I" and technically speaking they are probably Easter Eggers, which I am ok with too(I really just want blue/green eggs) but the major red flag is that they have about 20 other breeds(some in more than one colour) of chickens for sale(I assume they have at least a pair of each). They are all around 14 weeks, how can they guarantee the breed of the pullets when they have that many breeds....? The birds are also kinda pricey. I don't want to spend the money and find out when they start laying that they lay regular old brown eggs. So, my gut says no! Anyone else have an opinion? Please.
    Also if anyone has some suggestions as to questions I should be asking when call that would be great too.
    Thanks in advance!!!

2. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    If I were looking for Easter eggers, I would be more inclined to get a bird with the classic ee look--the wild-type color, the beard and muffs, the dark legs. BUT, the most important thing is the pea comb. That is closely linked on the DNA to the green or blue shell genes, so that increases your chances a lot. Look on the sexing ee thread if you're not sure what to look for as a pea comb, there are lots of good shots there. You want a single row, a triple row is male. You also want a plainer colored bird, flashy/splashy colors are male and won't give you ANY eggs [​IMG]