Is my hen going broody?

chickie fam

Songster
8 Years
Jan 31, 2011
Erwin, NC
For about 3 days now I have a hen that has been sitting on a nest for four or more hours after she has laid her egg but she always ends up jumping off when the other hens start bugging her too much. Is she going to go broody soon or is she just being lazy on her nest? I don't know how to tell if a hen has gone broody or not, I'm still pretty new to this

I think that she is being lazy. if it is about twelve eggs on the nest then she might be trying to go broody.

There are usually about 5 or more eggs under her when she is sitting there. I have about 3 hens that are doing this and there are at least 4 eggs under each of them. I'm really wanting them to brood but I just don't know how to encourage or even spot the signs

If she stops laying eggs and doesnt get off the nest you will know. Do you want her to be broody, are her eggs fertile?

I think she'd stay on the nest if the other hens would leave her alone. Their eggs are all fertile and I wish she would be broody. I don't know if there is any way to encourage her

I would make a nest in a dog crate with the door open and see if she stays on the eggs. Just mark the eggs you put under her so if someone does lay an egg in with hers, you will know which one or ones doesnt belong. or you can lock her up separate but make sure you take her off her nest once or twice a day to poop, eat and drink. does she put up a fuss when the other hens hop in with her? I need to leave for a bit, but will check back in a while once I get home. I love my broody hens, I have silkies and there is almost always a hen sitting on eggs at my place!