Is my incu ready??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jwatts, Mar 18, 2012.

1. jwatts

jwatts Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    Hello all, i am a complete newbie here, Anyway i have my 2 hovabator still air incu's setup. Without eggs,Im holding 100-101 deg. my humidity level is about 75%, there is water in my incubators. Is my hmidity level too high? Just trying to do a dry run before the eggs go in. Thank you

2. 1sttimechick

1sttimechick Out Of The Brooder

Feb 29, 2012
    Massachusetts
    Yes, you should be around 40% humidity until day 19 then you up it to 70%

3. curranchickens

curranchickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 2, 2011
    Fredericskburg, VA
    I am not very experienced with hatching... I just set my first hatch yesterday but I know that 75% humidity is way too high. It is my understanding that they will drown in the shells. If you have a hovabators then it should have two different water channels in the plastic bottom liner. You only fill the one channel for days 1-18 and then fill the secon and the first for the lockdown period days 19-21.

There is a lot of debate as to What is a good humidity. Mine are running around 45%. A lot of people like 40 to 50% and then there are others that like a "dry hatch" and keep it at 30% but everyone then cranks up the humidity for the lockdown.

4. 4-H chicken mom

4-H chicken mom Overrun With Chickens

Aug 3, 2007
    Oberlin, OH
    Yes, for chicken eggs way to high. I incubate at 45-50 %. Good luck. :)

5. chkinut

chkinut Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2010
    Leesburg, Ohio