Is my rooster aggressive or just being a rooster

Kchicken1988

In the Brooder
Sep 15, 2019
hello.
I’m new to chickens. My flock is almost 7 months old.
I’ve had my rooster since he was a baby. He was always loved on and picked up. When he was turned over into the large coop he no longer wanted to be held.
These are his behivaor traits and i am Trying to figure out if he being aggressive or just doing his job as a rooster. And soMe of things he does aren’t towards me, but he makes me nervous and I don’t trust him.
He also the only rooster

- when I open the coop he tries to be the first one out the door. If the hens are out before him he will literally chase them back inside.
In the middle of the day ( this is sometimes not every day) when I approach the coop he won’t let the girls near the door. He will chase them off or pace the door. So I have to walk past him first

When Inside the coop he has paced in front of me with his head down. Sometimes he will peck at the ground so I dont know if he’s acting like he’s ingoring me and really watching me. Or just pecking the ground. Lol

If one of the hens squawks He will come running towards me thinking it was not me who’s hurting them

And lastly. He will never. Take his eyes off me when I’m In the coop

Ok. So is he aggressive or just being himself ?

Sounds like he is very protective of his hens. And he hasn't decided if your a threat or not yet. When he challenges you don't react. If you try to shoo him away with your foot, hand, bucket, feed scoop, etc. your going to get hit. My advice would be to ignore him. If you react to his challenges your going to get hit then you've got a bigger problem to deal with. As long as he doesn't become aggressive towards you on his own he should eventually decide your not a threat and move on.