1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Is my she a he?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by ChandyRae02, Mar 30, 2017.

1. ChandyRae02

ChandyRae02 New Egg

Mar 30, 2017
    I got my four chicks about five weeks ago, they are almost six weeks old. This is my first time, and BC has been a wealth of information for every single question I've had! But I am really starting to worry that my Rhode Island Red might be a he instead of a she, so I came to the experts. Please help! It would be heartbreaking for my kids and I to have to give her up.

Like I said, almost six weeks old. Her feathers came in very evenly. She did have a dot on top of her head when we got her. Her legs are no darker, thicker, or larger than my other girls. For size she is no bigger, actually my second smallest out of four. She has dark feathers on the back of her neck but not on tail, chest, or belly. She does not usually hold herself upright unless there is possible danger nearby. She is very docile and happy to nestle down in my hand and go to sleep. So why am I worried? She is definitely the most aggressive of the chicks, especially if there is perceived danger, when she seems to be trying to keep the others in line. Her comb is much larger than the others (although to be fair they all have different types, including a rose comb and one with virtually no comb at all). Her wattles are a little bigger too. And tonight she ran at one of the other chicks when that chick accidentally fell on her, and the feathers on her neck were raised!

Can anyone give me a more educated opinion of what you think all this means? I really appreciate it!! (She prefers to be squatted down but I made her stand for the photo. Younger one to show head dot)

[​IMG]

[​IMG][/IMG]

2. ChandyRae02