1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Is my silkie broody, or...?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by pixiechic, Dec 26, 2008.

1. pixiechic

pixiechic Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 23, 2008
    North GA
    I'll apologize up front, I'm fairly new to raising chickens, so I'm sorry if this is a noob question...

Mellow, my little 9-month-old silkie pullet, was laying adorable little eggs almost every day until last week. 4-5 days ago she stopped laying completely, and now she's spending almost all of her time on her nest. Yesterday when I went to check on her, she was sitting so still that I was afraid she had died, but I petted her gently and she started to coo.

This morning Mellow came out of the coop for long enough to eat and scratch a bit. I noticed that she looks more rounded in shape. When my silkie cockerel approached her, she put her head down and fanned out her wings at him, which I've never seen her do before. My buff orp cockerel went after her and she led him on a good swift chase around the yard - she certainly had no interest in giving him what he wanted. Now she's back in the coop, hunkered down on her nest again.

From what I've read here it sounds like she may be broody, but there are no eggs under her. It also seems like the wrong time of year. We've had some very cold weather (teens to 30s) alternating with nearly 70-degree days. Is there anything else this could be? My girls are all about the same age and I haven't been through this before.