Is My Silkie Cockerel Show Standard?

Discussion in 'Exhibition, Genetics, & Breeding to the SOP' started by Fur-N-Fowl, May 25, 2019.

1. Fur-N-Fowl

Fur-N-Fowl Songster

May 25, 2019
    UK
    Hello everyone I'm new here so this is my first time posting!

I am posting here in the hope of getting a rough idea on whether my Silkie Cockerel is of a decent standard.

I originally purchased two purebred Silkie hens (one non bearded white and one bearded cuckoo) and they are beautiful.

I'm aware the cuckoo can't be shown as in the UK it is not a recognised Silkie colour.

Anyways, the white is beautiful! She does have some features that could be a tad better. This mainly being her foot feathering on her toes! She does have feathers on the two required toes but on the centre toe it's a little patchy. Other than that she's really nice!

At the end of the month I am taking her (and the Cockerel) to a poultry show/county show.

As recommended, I separated them from my flock and put them into a smaller pen (a rabbit hutch). She's coping well in it but because she can't see due to her poofy head, she kept scratching her beak on the cage bars...

This has left a scratch dug into her beak. It's not infected or 'open', just scratched. Will this be okay for the show or would the judge say it's a fault? I will put a little bit of petroleum jelly on before the show but it is still visible.

Anyways, back to the question at hand!

I later went on to purchase a Silkie Cockerel from a private breeder. They are purebred but I'm just still unsure on if he meets show standard as I've never shown birds before.

I was told he was a lovely bird as he has very little hard feathering in his 'bum fluff' and has the mulberry coloured walnut comb and wattles. He does also have 5 toes!

Is it worth me taking him to the show or does he not look like a good Silkie?

Please note I am only doing the show for fun, but I don't want to take an embarrassing bird.