Is now a good time to add a few more hens? (3 month old hens)

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by simmerda, Aug 28, 2010.

1. simmerda

simmerda New Egg

Jun 13, 2010
    Hello all.

This is my first year with chickens, and thanks to all of your great post, things are going really well!

We started with 8 chicks, they are now about 3 months old. We lost 2 to one of the family dogs and one to a red fox, however, it seems we have all predators now under control.

So now we have 5.

I'm considering adding a few more Hens as caring for 7-8 birds isn't any more work than caring for 5...

Wondering if you more experienced folks think adding to the flock now has any advantages to waiting until the girls are a bit older? Is there less stress, pecking, etc becasuse they are still fairly young?

It's just me, my wife and our 1 year old boy, so, 5 Hens will probably be enough eggs for us (once they start laying).

Any/all thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Will post pics later of our coop and girls...

Thanks!

2. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    [​IMG]