We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

Is roost training necessary? A: Probably not

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by gtaus, Jul 21, 2019.

1. gtaus

gtaus Songster

Mar 29, 2019
    Northern Minnesota
    My Coop
    This is my first year with laying hens, so I am learning a lot of things many of you probably already know. So this is for someone who is marching along the same first year experience as me. Here is my experience with chickens learning to use the roost bars, or not. For reference, I have a mixed flock of 10 pullets.

Weeks 1-7: Chicks in the brooder.
    Week 8: Chicks moved into outdoor coop and run.
    Week 9: 2 six foot long roost bars built, one at 24 inches off the coop bedding, and another at 48 inches high. Only 1 pullet found to be using the low bar. All other chickens sleeping on the bedding.
    Week 10: 3 pullets on the lower bar, all others on the bedding.
    Week 11: 3 pullets on the higher bar, 2 pullets on the lower bar, others still on the bedding.
    Week 12: 3 pullets on the higher bar, 7 pullets on the lower bar for the first time yesterday. Wish I had my camera with me, but I did not. Anyway, exciting to open the coop and see all the pullets roosting on their bars.

Now that I know they are using the roost bars if they want, I will not worry about having to train them to use the roosts. My primary concern was to have the pullets using the 24 inch and 48 inch high bars before they start laying eggs, because the nest boxes are designed to be 12 inches off the bedding, and I don't want them to sleep in the nest boxes.

I was wondering if I would have to train the pullets to use the roost bars, but I followed the advice of others who said just give them more time. And still others who said that it does not really matter if they use the roost or not anyway.

2. aart

aart Chicken Juggler!

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop