Is She Broody At 8 Months Old???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by TwoCrows, Oct 24, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I have 4 Black Australorp girls that are 8 months old. I have a small coop with only 1 nest box which is external so that there is more room in the coop. One of the girls has, for the last 2 weeks, began going into the nest box hours before she needs to lay, she eventually lays, and even when I remove the egg, (she screams and bites at me), she STILL sits in the nest box.

The other girls get anxious to get in and lay their eggs, while "Pearl" hogs up the box for hours at a time. I have, for now, made up a movable nest box for the other girls to lay if they just can not "hold it" any longer.

Is this hen broody? Or is she just having a hard time laying? Excuse my ignorance here, but I am new to chickens this year and I have NO idea what goes on in a nest box!! [​IMG] She always, and eventually passes an egg. The egg is somewhat "wrinkled" a bit. I don't know if that has anything to do with it. Thanks...Leyla [​IMG]

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Box monopoly is somewhat common. Whether she actually goes broody is to be determined. You need another laying box, pure and simple. She cannot occupy both of them at once. "Normally" one box is enough for up to 8 hens, but not in your case.

3. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Sounds like broody behavior to me.

My Olga (American gamehen/EE cross) started laying at 5-1/2 months of age, laid for 2 weeks, then went broody. She's 15 months old now and has gone broody FIVE times since the first of the year (we've let her hatch out 3 times, though). She's more reliable than our $300 incubators.