1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    Not a member yet? join BYC here & then introduce yourself in our community forum here.

Is she broody?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Savanna’s chickens, Jun 17, 2018.

1. Savanna’s chickens

Savanna’s chickens Chirping

May 20, 2018
    My 3 yr old hen is staying in the best box sitting on eggs I would think she’s broody but when I put my haven in she didn’t try to attack me. I’ve never had a chicken go broody she and her flock mates were my first chickens. And if she is broody she’s been doing it for a day or two should I try to put fertilized eggs under her and hatch them out? I don’t know if I should as I have no experience hatching chicks at all

2. boz

boz Chirping

Jun 5, 2018
    Teachey NC
    if she been there all day and night and the next day it is ok to put an egg next to her wing or that is what I do from time to time for my hen growl at me went I put my hand in the nest box. anyhow she pull the egg under her so you don't have to worrie about getting the egg right under her

3. Savanna’s chickens

May 20, 2018
    I’m not sure she’s broody yesterday or maybe the day before she seemed to always be laying an egg when we let them out in the morning and put them in at night but I think it’s strange that when I put my hand in she doesn’t try to attack it she is the nicer one of the flock but none of them really trust me

4. aart

aart Chicken Juggler! Premium Member 5 Years

Nov 27, 2012
    SW Michigan
    My Coop
    Some birds like to 'lounge' in the nest before and/or after laying.
    Some birds pop into nest, lay their egg, and pop back out...
    ...the loungers can stay in there for a couple hours.

Broody hens have several behaviors that can happen.