1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Is Tetracycline Hydrochloride Soluble Powder safe to use on ducks?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MeaghanBusch, Feb 28, 2012.

1. MeaghanBusch

MeaghanBusch New Egg

Jul 9, 2011
    We ordered terramycin and got tetracycline hydrochloride soluble powder. Is the stuff we got safe to use on a Fawn and White Indian Runner duck?

2. critters

critters Chillin' With My Peeps

I am not an expert by any means but I have used that on my chickens, ducks, peafowl and guineas.
    This is the same stuff that tractor supply uses on their newbies....

I have Muscovy, Pekin and several mixed ducks. Haven't had any adverse side effects.

Maybe someone with more knowledge on this will stop in and reply...
    Good luck!

what are you treating them for?

3. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    I actually just bought some but only to have an antibiotic on hand "just in case". What are you treating them for?

4. MeaghanBusch

MeaghanBusch New Egg

Jul 9, 2011
    I'm treating one duck for an open wound, to stop possible infections.

5. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    Tetracycline is fine for ducks but be careful with the dosage. I'm assuming you're using a form of the medication that's added to their water. ducks consume much more water in proportion to their size than do chickens. Given at the rate designated for chickens they may consume an excessive amount of the medication. I'd be more inclined to use a topical antibiotic for an open wound, if I used anything.

Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  6. MeaghanBusch

MeaghanBusch New Egg

Jul 9, 2011