Is There A Forum Just For Organic Eggs?

Discussion in 'BYC Website & Forum Feedback & Announcements' started by Uncle Marc, Oct 17, 2011.

1. Uncle Marc

Uncle Marc Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2011
    Poplar Grove Kentucky
    Since we want to raise chickens to produce "organic eggs" we wondered if enough people were interested in all the "ins and outs" of this endeavor to create a separate forum topic.

There's a lot of good info we are getting from this website and this Forum, but trying to find stuff strictly about "organic" issues is a bit difficult since they are buried in a lot of other places.

Just a thought. I'm a newbie here, but, a separate forum topic in the Index sure would be nice.

2. airmechreed

airmechreed Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    Colorado Springs
    Define Organic?

3. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    The FDA's definition for "organinic" is much more lax than some of the BYC folks' definition. There are a number of good threads out there---what are you looking for specifically? I can point them out to you---

My concern with giving it it's own index forum is that the topic is too general. It would have to include food, housing, diseases, treatment, breeding, etc-----all of those topics are already categorized elsewhere.

Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
  4. Illia

Illia Crazy for Colors

Oct 19, 2009
    Forks, WA
    Yeah, a definition for your term Organic would help, but you can always create a topic strictly on Organic eggs. You'd be surprised how many people feed their poultry strictly organic feed. A topic devoted to it would help; we don't need a whole section/forum for it IMO.

5. Uncle Marc

Uncle Marc Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 12, 2011
    Poplar Grove Kentucky
    I wasn't sure what "organic" meant either, although Harriet has been purchasing organic eggs for our table for a year or so.

We were impressed by the marketing trends for organic eggs and so looked into the whole situation.