is there a kind of chicken I can get to raise my meat chickens?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by offthehook08, May 9, 2011.

1. offthehook08

offthehook08 New Egg

May 9, 2011
    I want to avoid having to get a brooder is there any kind of chicken that I can buy that will raise my meat chickens?

2. Ariel301

Ariel301 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 14, 2009
    Kingman Arizona
    There is no breed of chicken that will just accept and raise chicks if she sees them. Even those that "go broody" and want to hatch eggs are not reliable, if/when they do so is on their own time and you can't influence when she will want to raise a family. Plus, those meat chicks get big fast, they will be too big for her to brood long before they no longer need heat.

3. offthehook08

offthehook08 New Egg

May 9, 2011
    How long do I need to leave them under the heat lamps? It's already in the 90's here. I've done egg layers but I'm new to meat Chickens! I just ordered my first set today!

4. Dogfish

Dogfish Rube Goldberg incarnate

Mar 17, 2010
    Western Washington
    About $20 to make one of these brooders.

[​IMG]

You need to be concerned about the low temp each day. Have light on them at night to keep them around 80-90 the first few weeks, and drop temp steadily. Mine went outside at 3 weeks, and we had freezing weather a few nights. Sounds like you'll have no problem getting transitioned outside.

5. hoping4better

hoping4better Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 22, 2010
    Middle Tennessee
    @dogfish

What is that PVC pipe thing in your brooder and are those ducks in the background? Oh and do you have plans for that?

6. BarefootMom

BarefootMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    Half Way, Missouri