Is this a Dominique?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by revolutionarygardens, Aug 14, 2011.

1. revolutionarygardens

revolutionarygardens Out Of The Brooder

Jun 26, 2011
    Newbie here! I bought four Barred Rock chicks this spring, but I think two of them may be Dominiques. I'm posting a picture of the two ladies in question along with a closeup of the comb of the one who is the most developed. My other two ladies both have the single comb that I've read is indicative of the Barred Rock. What do you those of you in the know think? Are they Dominiques as I suspect? Thank you!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. ramirezframing

ramirezframing Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2011
    Knee Deep
    i say its a dom, but i have not had one myself

3. speckledhen

speckledhen Intentional Solitude Premium Member

Yup, it's a Dom.

4. 202roosterlane

202roosterlane Happy Hen on a Harley

Feb 24, 2011
    Central Arkansas
    YUP. Doms have a rose comb.

5. revolutionarygardens

Jun 26, 2011
    Thanks for your replies, this is good to know! I guess you learn something new everyday!

6. dianaross77

dianaross77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2010
    Grand Blanc, MI
    How old are these chickens? That is an awfully red comb and the wattles are really big on the first one in comparison the the other chicken in pic 2.

7. revolutionarygardens

Jun 26, 2011