Is this an adequate set up?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Tylerj216, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Tylerj216

Tylerj216 Just Hatched

Apr 12, 2017
    Hello, I'm new to raising chicks and have done the best to make a decent place for my chicks to grow, they are six leghorns that are about two weeks old. The cardboard on top is to provide shade for half the cage. The cardboard in the front is to prevent them from sticking their heads and necks out while they sleep. [​IMG]

2. homestead 101

homestead 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2016
    It looks like it might work. But they will out grow it really fast. If it is possible, make the brooder as big as possible

3. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI
    2x IF you can get your hands on an appliance (refrigerator) cardboard box, it will give you some time. Do you have a brooder for them? A coop?

4. homestead 101

homestead 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2016
    Many people broode chicks in there coop

5. Tylerj216

Tylerj216 Just Hatched

Apr 12, 2017
  6. Tylerj216

Tylerj216 Just Hatched

Apr 12, 2017
    I will try to get a bigger space for them, honestly I have mostly been worried about their temps and haven't thought of how they would quickly outgrow the cage. Do you mean a brooder chicken? If so, then no I do not. And I tried posting a link but I apparently do not have permission (probably because i only made this account recently) but the coop I have is "The big green coop" that I bought from Tractor Supply.

7. ChickNanny13

ChickNanny13 Overrun With Chickens

Jun 23, 2013
    Hilo, HI