Is this Angel Wing?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by tia, Aug 11, 2010.

1. tia

tia Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2009
    Valdez, Alaska
    Is this angel wing? If so what do I do. Is it caused by diet - if so what can I add or take away. I will see what info I can find on it too.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. tia

Apr 19, 2009
    Valdez, Alaska
    She is on Wild Game Bird Starter
    26 % protein

Is that too high???

My Maintenance food I am feeding my runners is 18 % protein - should I switch her to that?

Maybe I should mix the two... to make it somewhere in between.

3. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens

Looks like a mild case of it, the picture from behind really shows it well. You should be able to treat it for 4 days. I've been writing about the fix several times now, and I'm no expert in any means. I had a bird that injured himself making his wing look like angel wing. I wrapped him just like I'm describing below and he healed just fine. There are several suggestions on how it gets started and people may fight over it. Regardless what caused it, it is best to treat it early. Done right you will not see any of it a week later. Go to the feed store and get 2 rolls of vet wrap, that should cover 4 wrappings. You will need someone to hold the bird on a table while you wrap. First you fold that wing in tucked under the wing and do one wrap around the wing itself. If you don't do that the bird will stretch out its wing under the wrap, which does not help much to get it perfectly right. Next you wrap once around the body close to the legs and one more time over the chest. If you do it to loose the bird will pull out its wing, to tight it wont be able to breath or eat right. Don't worry you will learn really fast what works. I remove the wrapping at night so the bird can stretch out its wings and get the blood circulation going. Don't worry this will not slow down the healing process. You should be done with the wrapping after 4 days. It really heals that f