Is this buckeye a rooster?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by MyPetNugget, Nov 18, 2013.

1. MyPetNugget

MyPetNugget Enjoying the cold!!!

I was thinking it was a he, because it has thicker legs, a "droopy" tail, and is smaller than the girls.
    If you see the comb and think it's a pullet, just remember that buckeyes don't grow much of a comb.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Here are the girls to compare. I didn't get many pictures because they ran away and I couldn't catch them.[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I appreciate any help. These chickens are 16 weeks old.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2013
  2. ChickenAndMore

ChickenAndMore Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2012
    Texas
    I am pretty sure it is a cockerel, however I have no experience with this breed. [​IMG]

3. MyPetNugget

Thanks! I just wanted to double check.[​IMG]

4. Lady of McCamley

Lady of McCamley Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2011
    NW Oregon
    There's a Buckeye thread here on BYC that is very active (sometimes too active) that you could ask on for some expert opinions. https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/803253/the-buckeye-thread

Buckeye girls can get thick legs too...that's part of the breed standard which is thicker overall...and your roo would be heavier than your girls as the roo's dress out nicely for meat birds.

The comb is pale and tight (as a Buckeye has a tight pea comb), so I'm thinking female especially since you'd have better signs at 16 weeks.

The feathers starting a possible cascade for saddle is the only thing that makes me think roo at this point, but they are still rounder so it could be a hen with a funkier tail.

I'm just learning about the breed myself now (planning to add some come spring) so I've not got personal experience though.

Check with the Buckeye thread and you'll get some expert opinions.

Lady of McCamley