Is this Bumblefoot?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Twilight Sparkles, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Twilight Sparkles

Twilight Sparkles In the Brooder

Dec 28, 2018
    Hi. I’m still pretty new at chicken raising and would like some expert advice if Penny has Bumblefoot. She follows me everywhere and was sitting on the porch by the window waiting for me to come out again when i noticed her paw being a bit red when she raised it up to scratch her head. So i went to inspect and found both sides were slightly red with small black scab on her right paw. I was planning to give her epsom salt foot bath but because she was so messy i ended up giving her a full 723EA585-C4FD-4ACC-B0FD-D497520DE0DC.jpeg 81B9EE50-B456-4F68-9518-04EEEB99EFA9.jpeg D87567EA-8650-4E46-9662-27FF3F4FB622.jpeg 726D43A0-33EB-417E-9CB5-D67C0205AAD9.jpeg
    28272202-E6A0-4272-81C2-A3D0A69F95D9.jpeg
    bath applied Leucillin (antiseptic spray) and nano spray and manuka balm. She is still very active, eating, pushing her friends around when they want to share her bowl etc.

Would really like some advice please. (2 pictures before and 2 after bath)

staceyj likes this.
  2. Keeperofmunchkins

Keeperofmunchkins Songster

Nov 5, 2018
    Birmingham UK
    Yes it's bumblefoot. You will probably have to remove the scab and pus plug inside that wound otherwise it will not heal and can become a serious problem. Once the plug is removed you can use the same treatments you mentioned (antiseptic and balms) plus wrap it to keep it clean and keep her isolated somewhere for a day or two. There are articles on bumblefoot surgery that can help.

3. Twilight Sparkles

Dec 28, 2018
    Thank you. Was really hoping i could get away with no surgery. Will have to get someone to help me do it.

Chick-N-Fun and staceyj like this.
  4. Saaniya

Saaniya Crowing

Aug 31, 2017

Yes it is the startup of the scabbing
    I just finished treating bumblefoot Successfully with help of @staceyj