Is this even true?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cmfarm, Sep 30, 2012.

1. cmfarm

cmfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2010
    Elgin, TX
    I was just talking to a guy that I am going to buy some quail eggs from. I was telling him that I would be out his way tomorrow to pick up some duck eggs so I could also get the quail eggs then. He told me around this time of year duck eggs only have 60% fertility and chicken eggs only have 80%, and quail eggs are not effected at all. I didn't think this sounded right but didn't say anything. What have others experienced?

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    I've no personal experience, but while researching online I found a study by a university in Bangladesh on the hatch ability of duck eggs through the year. They found that the hatch ability was highest in March, and lowest in June. In June they got the most unfertilised eggs, followed by March, January, April and May.

Another study shows that chicken eggs have the highest hatch ability in in Winter (78.62%), followed by monsoon season (76.70%) and then Summer (75.79%)
    They used 3 different breeds for this study, Fayoumi, White Leghorn and Rhode Island Red. Of the 3 the Fayoumi's eggs had the highest hatch rate (78.34%), followed by the White Leghorn (76.48%) and the Rhode Island Red (74.59%)
    Age wise they found the hens aged 41-60 weeks produced the most hatchable eggs (77.99%), followed by 61 weeks and older (76.49%) and the 28-40 weeks old (75.71%)

I'll see if I can find anything on Quails...

Same Bangladesh University also did a study on Japanese quail eggs. Results in short:

"Eggs of medium weight, 9.10-10g could be hatched satisfactorily between 4-7 days of pre-incubation holding periods during any season of the year"