Is this gonna be a rose comb?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Yellowcoop1, Aug 10, 2014.

1. Yellowcoop1

Yellowcoop1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2014
    I am very new to chickens. I've had my flock of 19 girls for just over 3 weeks now. They are all doing well. Spoiled for sure.

One of my EEs, they are all apx 9 weeks old, looks to be starting a rose comb (if that's possible). Do EEs get rose combs or are they only breed specific to something else. Can someone tell me what it means. Here's a photo as clear as I can get it. Thanks[​IMG]

2. MistyMountain

MistyMountain Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2013
    Virginia
    I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I think you have a rooster there. That looks like a rooster's three row pea comb and the red coloring in common of a rooster. Do you have a more clear picture of the chicken?

ETA I meant to say red or splotchy coloring on the wings is usually a pretty good indicator of an EE rooster.

Last edited: Aug 10, 2014
  3. MistyMountain

Aug 24, 2013
    Virginia
    This is what a rose comb looks like on a 5 week old silver laced wyandotte/ee mix. They are wide and flatish, with bumps showing up as they get older.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I should also say the gender of both of these is yet to be determined, however I suspect one if not both are roosters.

4. LRH97

LRH97 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2013
    Southern Illinois
    That is a pea comb. Araucanas, EEs, and Ameraucanas have them. I've never seen rose combs on any of these breeds. Rose combs will be raised with a spike coming out of the back, while peas have the ridges or rows down the middle. Look up pictures of Wyandottes or Sebrights for good examples. (even though Sebrights can have single combs too.)

5. Yellowcoop1

Jun 13, 2014