Is this horse right for me? ( Thoroughbred )

farm girl

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 6, 2012
In the USA
Is this horse right for me? My mothers Friend is getting rid of a horse. He is a Thoroughbred, 7 years old, bay, 17 hands. He has raced ones and showed ones. She dose not have room for him were she is going to move and she dose not ride him as much as she yoost to. I have been riding for two and almost 3 years. I know how to ride very well the only thing i do not know how to do is gallop. ( never tried )I have also raced in a 2 by 2 point race( for fun ), and hill topped he might need to do that. I would just trail ride him and ride in the ring. Not for money or a prize. I just won't to ride for fun. To have him as a friend. Should i get him? oh, my ridding teacher is going to ride him and see what she thinks than me. Is this horse right for me?
roll.png

Well, a lot of it depends on the horse and if both of you "click". It sounds like a good idea to have your instructor ride him and assess him before you purchase.

Nothing you have said about this horse is a red flag to me, but it will depend on the fit between him and you. Asking whether this horse is right on a forum like this is kind of like asking, "will these curtains look good with this furniture" without posting pictures of either!
tongue.png

I agree that getting your riding instructor to check him out first is a good idea. She knows your style and skill level. and she (hopefully) will be able to evaluate the horse with that in mind.

Can't honestly answer that question. You said you've ridden for three years and never galloped. An off the track thoroughbred knows one thing: gallop. They usually don't steer that well, and the meaning of whoa is foreign to them. And to be perfectly honest, after riding for nearly three years you should be accomplished riding at the gallop.