Is this incubator any good? Any reccommendations?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by cupman, Aug 7, 2011.

1. cupman

cupman Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    Portland, OR
    This is the incubator I have been looking at: https://www.gqfmfg.com/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=77#

I
    know nothing about incubators or the incubation process itself. I mean, I've read a little bit but I'm a complete novice at this point. I wanted to get an incubator that would automatically do the turning for me, because I'd hate to miss a day or something and have it screw the baby chicks up. Near the bottom it says, "Without an automatic turner in place, the incubator will hold 50 large duck or chicken eggs or 140 quail eggs." This has me a bit confused, is it implying that with a turner in place there will be less room? The automatic turner holds 42 eggs so perhaps that's why it says that.

I am interested in hatching chicken eggs but I would also like to do quail and depending how adventurous I get possibly guinea fowl or even cornish game hen. Does this look like a very good incubator to you experienced folks? Do you have a different recommendation for an incubator? I'm not the richest guy in the world so I was thinking of trying to keep my costs around or below $250. This setup is around $180. Thank you.

2. pfmoore17

pfmoore17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 13, 2010
    CT
    I have a Genesis. It is an excellent machine for incubating and hatching eggs. Best of the styroform machine. If your budget is 250, check out the Brinsea Eco 20 w/ turner.

3. Arielle

Arielle Chicken Obsessed

Feb 19, 2011
    Massachusetts, USA
    Near the bottom it says, "Without an automatic turner in place, the incubator will hold 50 large duck or chicken eggs or 140 quail eggs." This has me a bit confused, is it implying that with a turner in place there will be less room? The automatic turner holds 42 eggs so perhaps that's why it says that.