Is this mites? (pictures) How do I fix this?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by blinkk, Jan 22, 2014.

1. blinkk

blinkk Out Of The Brooder

May 20, 2013
    I'm new to owning chickens, and my flock has something, but I'm not sure what. My fellow chicken friend came over a few weeks ago and said they have mites. She suggested I sprinkle a little DE on them at night. It's been about two weeks and I'm about to put my third round of DE on these birds, but they haven't gotten any better. I'm starting to wonder if her advice was off? The DE doesn't seem to be working.

My second in command has it really bad (she's the last picture.) Her skin looks horrible. I don't want anyone else to progress to her stage. It looks nasty. :(

What does this look like to you? How should I fix this? I want to get this cleaned up right away- I've been messing with this useless DE for too long.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 22, 2014
  2. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    do you have a rooster in with them? IF it is mites your right , your wasting time. they like to bath in it and it helps keep them down but for a heavy infestation you gotta pull out the big guns. lol they sell poultry dust. i use 7 dust. you will need to do the coop too.

3. blinkk

May 20, 2013
    Nope, no rooster. Just the ladies.

I did some research online and it said (if it is mites) I've got to clean out the whole coop and redo everything (bedding, nesting boxes, etc.) Before I go that whole route, I wanted to confirm with people on here to make sure that's the right course of action. I've spent two weeks on the wrong medicine; I want to get it right this time.

4. granny hatchet

granny hatchet Tastes like chicken Premium Member

Sep 26, 2013
    madison Indiana
    good idea, i cant tell.

5. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California