Is this normal for Duck eggs UPDATED WITH PICTURES

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Ducks-R-Us, Sep 1, 2009.

1. Ducks-R-Us

Ducks-R-Us Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 23, 2009
    North Dakota
    I am relatively new to hatching and recently purchased 6 Ancona duck eggs on Eggbid.com from a nearby seller. The seller sent 8 eggs and I am happy to say all have developed well. Yesterday was day 25 so I took the eggs out of the incubator and put them into the hatcher with a little lower temperature and higher humidity. Today is day 26 and 7 of the 8 eggs have bumps or small cracks pushing outward from the shell - none have holes, just a bump pushing outward. I can hear chirping so I do know at least a few are alive. The first bumps were noticed about noon today but nothing more has happened to each egg - just one "bump" pushing outward. Is this normal?

Last week I hatched a few bantam chickens and none of them had bumps like these, they pipped and zipped in just a couple hours.

Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  2. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    Ducks may poke a little hole or make a bump and then rest for a while. It can take 3 days from the bump to some actual hatching.

3. Ducks-R-Us

Jul 23, 2009
    North Dakota
    Thank you for the reply, it sets my mind at ease - for now. I know it's still early but when a couple had bumps, I thought things would be happening today.

I am a little worried because I had some call duck eggs make it all the way to the hatcher and then nothing happened. After day 29 I opened the eggs to find fully developed duckings that didn't hatch, a couple had broken into their airsack but none had pipped.

4. Wifezilla

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado