Is this 'pasty butt'?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by graykristen, May 3, 2008.

1. graykristen

graykristen Out Of The Brooder

May 2, 2008
    We're raising our first batch of chicks. Half are Red Bros and half are Cornish Cross. Some of them have what looks like very poopy butts. The poop is caked on and a few had it pretty bad. Those few also lost their fur around the whole picky area. One in particular we had to cull because he was in such bad shape. He lost all of his fur on his underside and legs and the area around the anus turned white and crusty and he was losing water.

Still seeing some with poop caked on. I make sure that the vent is clear but I was just wondering what this is and what causes it.

Any feedback? I'm new at all of this and I'm so grateful for this message board.

Thanks!

2. MissPrissy

MissPrissy Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

May 7, 2007
    Forks, Virginia
    Yes, that is pasty butt.

If you are giveing then anything other than plain clean water and chick starter crumbles please stop. I know alot of people give sugar water* to new chicks but doing so for more than 1 day causes pasty butt. Shipping, chilling and stress cause it also.

Here is what I do -

In your kitchen sink run a stream of warm water. Hold the chick and let the water run over the poopy area to loosen and help wash it away. When the vent is clean and exposed you can carefully trim away the butt fluff fleathers so it can't trap the poop. Coat the area and around the vent (what you called the picky area) with vaseline to keep anything from sticking. You may have to check them several times through the day to make sure nothing is sticking and rewash, dry and apply vaseline.

If they are not getting better by the next day you can cook some white rice or oatmeal and mix it with some plain organic yogurt (no sugar) to try and tighten things up.