Is this REALLY an Americauna rooster? Please help.

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by mschickiemama, Feb 15, 2012.

1. mschickiemama

mschickiemama Out Of The Brooder

Oct 6, 2011
    Should I buy this rooster? He's originally from a feed store and the guy says he's an Americauna. He doesn't look like it to me. Is he an easter egger? Also, the guy says he is approx. 20 weeks , heavy boned, and almost twice the weight of his sisters. Is this a good thing? I've never had a rooster before and need help from the experts out there!

[​IMG]

2. mandelyn

mandelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    Goshen, OH
    Looks like a Speckled Sussex rooster to me.

3. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

X2

4. mschickiemama

Oct 6, 2011
    Wow. He does look like one...Is that a good rooster breed? I'm new to this... :p

5. mandelyn

mandelyn Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 30, 2009
    Goshen, OH
    Depends on what your breeding goals are. He'll make fertile eggs if that's all you want.

6. RedIII

RedIII Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 30, 2011
    Tooele, Utah
    I'm agreeing with what everyone else here has said - looks much like a Speckled Sussex roo. He'd be good looking if he were strutting around in your yard, at least.

7. mschickiemama

Oct 6, 2011
    I don't care about having purebred chickens. I just want my hen to have the option of hatching chicks. Most importantly I want a rooster who's nice and will not hurt my hens. ..

8. mama24

mama24 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 7, 2010
    GSO, NC