Is this Silver Laced Wyandotte a Rooster?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by libertyfarms, May 12, 2016.

1. libertyfarms

libertyfarms New Egg

Mar 16, 2016
    With such a dramatic difference in Comb/Waddle... I just figure that I've got a pair, instead of two Hens... Thoughts?

[​IMG]

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] You have a pullet and a cockerel.

3. libertyfarms

libertyfarms New Egg

Mar 16, 2016
    Yeah? AWESOME! I was hoping for at least one Rooster...

Thanks!

4. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA
    One cockerel, and one pullet, but are pretty poorly colored though. The cockerel isn't even laced. He's penciled.

5. libertyfarms

libertyfarms New Egg

Mar 16, 2016
    Really?? I'm new to this... Get these from Cal Ranch... Should they already be showing the Lacing? They're only about 9 weeks old...

6. Egghead_Jr

Egghead_Jr Overrun With Chickens

Oct 16, 2010
    NEK, VT
    Lacing shows at this age but improves with adult plumage which comes in late teens (weeks). You can tell how well they will finish out at this age with experience of breed.

The thing about your cockerel is it looks to have a single comb. I can't say if it's Wyandotte or other breed. If you breed the two you'll be dealing with that for years. Rose is dominant to single comb so all offspring will show rose. In next generation 1/4 will show single and half of them will be carriers of single comb gene. Whenever two recessive get together that trait expresses. It will be years to weed out the single comb.

7. junebuggena

junebuggena Chicken Obsessed

Apr 17, 2015
    Long Beach, WA