Is trimming around a silkies eyes an automatic DQ in showing?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by vpeterson, Sep 18, 2010.

1. vpeterson

vpeterson Chillin' With My Peeps

This summer I trimmed around some of my silkies eyes so that they could see. I also trimmed around a rooster and hen's vent to increase fertility. This was done several months ago. Can I still show these birds in Oct. or will they be automatically Disqualified? No point in bringing them if this will happen. I can't tell by looking at them that they were trimmed but I am sure that an eagle eyed judge could find it.

2. Silkie-Feet

Silkie-Feet Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 16, 2010
    Ky, Kentucky
    i just trimmed mine but idk about showing. i hope u dont get disqualafied. im new to silkies but hopefully someone else can help [​IMG]

3. MustLoveHens

MustLoveHens Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2010
    Albion, Wisconsin
    Generally speaking yes, you would get DQ'd for trimming feathers. However, once your bird is bathed and fluffed you might either see the trim job or not. So you could bathe and fluff one that you have trimmed and see what you get. Also, there maybe a possiblity that your birds have moulted and that the trimmed feathers are gone and you have no need to worry. Hope this helps!!

4. aveca

aveca Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 30, 2009
    Waverly, NY