Is what I'm feeding my chickens causing "fishy" taste in eggs due to Omega 3 fatty acid or Trimethylamine?

Mar 17, 2023
Hello! I'm very new to chicken keeping and I am not a scientist so I'm sorry if any of my following questions seem to have obvious answers! I had a few of my brown eggs last week smell a little fishy so I did some googling. Two different kinds of results popped up.
Result #1 said that the cause of fishy eggs is a mix of: a. Feeding hens feed high in Omega 3 fatty acids and b. Some brown egg layers being genetically unable to produce enough of a deodorizing enzime to deodorize the omega 3 fatty acids in their food. This causes some chickens to deposited un-deodorized Omega 3s into the egg yolks. Articles I read about fishy omega 3s said this problem can be caused by too much flax meal, leafy greens, or fishmeal in the chickens diet.
Result #2 said that the fishy smell is caused by "the accumulation of trimethylamine (TMA) in the yolk and that trimethylamine is produced by the bacterial fermentation of choline in the lower gut" of a chicken. The articles I read on trimethylamine say that "most hens metabolize the TMA into another (odorless) compound, but brown egg layers don't do that as efficiently." Excess trimethylamine can be caused by too much canola meal or rape seed meal in feed.

Omega 3s are good for you...so if that is the cause of an occasionally fishy egg then I'm not too worried about it. However, from what I've read online, trimethylamine is not good for you...so if this was the cause I would be more concerned. Are fishy eggs caused by Omega 3s and fishy eggs caused by excess trimethylamine two completely different issues that happen to exhibit the same symptom of fishy eggs? Or do people misdiagnose a trimethylamine issue as "my eggs just must be high in Omega 3s." How can I tell which issue is the real culprit for my fishy eggs?