Is younger better when wanting "handle-able" chickens

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Thenewguy, Aug 9, 2013.

1. Thenewguy

Thenewguy Out Of The Brooder

Aug 7, 2013
    Central Michigan
    Hello,
    I am new to all this, been at it since May of this year. We brought 4 two day old chicks home from my five year old daughters classroom at the end of her last school year. one turned out to be a rooster and had to leave for a less urban farm. We ended up loosing one when it was only a couple weeks old and accidentally replaced it with a turkey. We were told it was a chicken and it looked the same as the others.......for a couple weeks anyway. Then last week my son killed one while he was trying to corral the two hens and the turkey back to their coop. He had his hockey stick in his hand and tripped over something. Needless to say, he gave the hen a heck of a slap shot and that was all she wrote. He felt awful. So we are now down to a turkey and a hen.

What I am wondering is: I will be adding more hens in the future and I have read that introducing younger birds to an established flock (if you can call a turkey and a hen a flock) is hard on the younger birds because they are picked on to establish their order in the flock. I also read that older birds that are not handled or used to being handled may never get used to it and want nothing to do with us.

These birds were originally going to be used for only eggs, however, my children have found all sorts of uses for them. Especially my 6 year old daughter who is constantly having tea parties with them. She also carries the hen around like a baby, she has even brought her baby crib, blankets, little pillows, doll house furniture, and whatever else she can sneak out of the house before my wife catches her outside to play with the hen. The other day she gave it a bath (in one of my coolers) wrapped it in a towel, put it in the crib, covered it up and told it to go to sleep. It did.....really.