It's D Day

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by myhubbycallsmechickeemama, Jun 20, 2011.

1. myhubbycallsmechickeemama

myhubbycallsmechickeemama Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2011
    Arco, ID
    Well....today we send our meaties to freezer camp, I'm a little apprehensive and feel almost a little sad. Sure hope I can do this!![​IMG] Wish me luck, this is my first time. Of course the wind is blowing and it's chilly today. Allergies should be in top form. [​IMG]

2. hisdaughter

hisdaughter Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2011
    Lakeland
    Good luck and hope the allergies stay under control.

3. mcf3kids

mcf3kids Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    Good luck - please post how it went when you are done. DH and I are growing our first batch of 12 meaties and we are seriously thinking of starting a batch of Cornish X to fill the freezer. DH will do the deed but I will be there right along side defeathering and helping with the process. I am wondering how I will feel when that time comes as well - good luck!! You can do it!! [​IMG]

4. Jschaaff

Jschaaff Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 25, 2011
    New Hampshire
    Quote:Sending positive thoughts your way. Let us know how it goes! [​IMG]

-Jessa

5. itsy

itsy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2011
    New England
    Good luck!! Hope everything is going well!!!

6. myhubbycallsmechickeemama

May 9, 2011
    Arco, ID
    7 done and 12 to go. We had to stop and eat lunch. [​IMG] I'm sure we'll end up finishing them tomorrow. Our first one, I cried my eyes out but I'm getting much better now. We over scalded the 1st one so ended up skinning it. I think there is a learning curve to the whole scald and plucker thing but we are getting better. [​IMG] I'm really surprised that there is no smell. Is that normal because I have a very sensitive sniffer and was afraid it was going to make me sick but honestly, no yucky smell at all!! [​IMG]

Jessa....wish you were here to help!!! [​IMG]

7. Jschaaff