1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

It's So Nice To Finally Be On Here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mudstar4ever, Jun 5, 2011.

1. Mudstar4ever

Mudstar4ever Out Of The Brooder

Jun 5, 2011
    I would rather not give my location or age, but I do want to finally get involved on this website here! [​IMG] I can't exactly say I'm new to chickens, but my family and I have decided to start over
    from scratch. The reason I say this is because we have gone through two different clutches of chickens, two in the first and three in the second, and not one has survived. We have not had
    the best of luck, I'll just say that. But what's happened in the past is done and right now we just want to start over. (I will give information on our past attempts later, because it might help
    foolproof our plans.) My family and I had gotten very attached to our chickens and so their deaths were some pretty heavy blows on us. As a result, for the past two years we have refused
    to get anymore chickens because we don't want to go through the heartbreak again. My mom in particular dismisses the idea when I bring it up and so it will be very hard to convince her.
    But as the summer dawns on our property, we miss going down and visiting the chickens and my dad and I have been secretly conspiring. But even we do not want to have anymore
    chickens unless they are 100% safe from predators. I know there is no absolutely foolproof plan, but we live in a very heavily forested area and the predators around here are ruthless.
    Anyway, so I'm on here in the hopes to be able to bring home some chickens once again and to taste those delicious fresh eggs every morning and to have them around on our property. We