I've gone chicken nutty...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by LilacHomestead, Oct 14, 2013.

1. LilacHomestead

LilacHomestead Out Of The Brooder

Oct 14, 2013
    Hello I've been reading the BYC posts for a while now and have finally taken the plunge and signed up.

My husband and I moved to the bush from Melbourne Australia to take up residence in his late grandfathers farm. At one point his Pa had over 200 chickens and sold free range eggs from his back door. Now we have a flock of 5 Bourbon turkey, 9 Aruacana Pullets, 5 Orpington, 5 Sussex, 6 muscovy, 2 geese, a broody silkie, not to mention the sheep, two rabbits and my persian cat. Add in a baby and it's a party.

I free range my birds over 8 acres (not that they ever explore that far, they mainly scratch up worms in the veggie patch or tap at the back door for treats)

Although I'm still learning about poultry there's one thing I do know; my last four dreams have been about chickens and I think I have a serious addiction on my hands.

looking forward to my time on the forum!

1 person likes this.
  2. Christabelle

Christabelle Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 22, 2012
    Dayton NV
    Welcome! We are all a little nutty here. Good luck with your addiction. It's a fun one to have! :)

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] Your farm sounds wonderful. And I'm SO glad to hear I'm not the only one who dreams about chickens!

4. Bens-Hens

Bens-Hens Chillin' With My Peeps

Welcome, we are all just as bonkers here, so that makes it normal.

If you think you have it bad now, wait until you are hatching your own.....I have the worst case of 'bator brain going!

5. boofy

boofy Out Of The Brooder

Oct 14, 2013
    Dorset, uk