I've got the Iowa Blues!

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Trixy, Jan 7, 2013.

1. Trixy

Trixy Just Hatched

Sep 8, 2012
    Colorado Springs, CO
    After 6 months of plotting and planning, I finally got to purchase my first EVER chickens. The best part is that they were #1 on my Breed "want" list, the Iowa Blue, and I couldn't be happier with the 4 girls I got. As far as I can tell (I'm a newbie remember) these girls are very close to the desired coloring and size that the folks over on the Standards page are discussing.

I just wanted to let the lovely folks here at Back Yard Chickens know that there are some Iowa Blues for sale outside of Iowa.
    Here is the link to the lady in Fountain, CO where I got mine from (she has 4 hens and 1 roo left for sale): http://cosprings.craigslist.org/grd/3503938481.html

Here are pics of my Colorado Crew of Iowa Blues
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Here's the Roo she has for sale...he's a pretty and gentle boy:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 7, 2013
  2. Heidi Thatcher

Heidi Thatcher Out Of The Brooder

Jan 7, 2013
    California
    Yay!! Congrats on joining the feather brained masses here. :D But be warned... those four will soon turn into 8, then 16, then 32!! You simply can't stay at JUST four, it's wrong. ;)

3. Trixy

Trixy Just Hatched

Sep 8, 2012
    Colorado Springs, CO
    I heard the same advice about getting a tattoo and I'm sure you're right! [​IMG] The city will help me control myself with our 10 hen limit, but I'm sure by the time Spring rolls around I'll have full fledged chicken fever. Thanks!

4. Heidi Thatcher

Jan 7, 2013
    California
    Yes, chicken fever is very contageous and there is no cure. Too bad about the city limit you have, but it might be saving you from yourself. lol!